How Long Did It Take You to Make That? Update

October 11, 2009

Here’s the progress as of today on How Long Did It Take You to Make That?, which I began on February 21, 2009. This is an ongoing artwork addressing the question I’ve been asked so often about my artwork and/or knitting: How long did it take you to make that?

I work on this piece for five minutes a day, except when I am away from home. I usually work on it in the morning, as part of my meditation practice. As of today, I have spent a little over 15 hours on it.

Once a week I change the needle size, which affects the tension and width of the fabric. In this way, the piece contains within it a visual indication of the passing of time.

It has no practical value and I’m not sure when it will be finished.

